Test Calendar for AK TRLN

March 2, 2021
  • March 2, 2021  11:00 am - 12:00 pm

    ITEP Tribal Resilience Program Funding Information

    REGISTER FOR ITEP WEBINAR HERE

    This webinar is an installment in ITEP's Topics in Climate Change Adaptation Planning webinar series which are available on the ITEP Tribes and Climate Change website under the Trainings and Events tab. 

    Date: Tuesday, March 2, 2021Time: 10:00am (Hawaii), 11:00am (Alaska), 12:00pm (Pacific), 1:00pm (Mountain), 2:00pm (Central), 3:00pm (Eastern) 

    The Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) has announced the availability of funding through the Tribal Climate Resilience Program and please visit the BIA website for more information. Proposals are due Friday, April 23, 2021. 

    The Tribal Climate Resilience Program supports tribes preparing for climate change that impacts tribal treaty and trust resources, economies, infrastructure, and human health and safety. The Program will also provide funding for projects that support tribal resilience and ocean and coastal management planning.

    ITEP is honored to host the BIA for this webinar which will provide information about available funding for Tribal activities that support Tribal climate adaptation and resilience planning, ocean and coastal management planning, and relocation, managed retreat, or protect-in-place planning and design activities for coastal and riverine communities. Please join us to learn more about this funding opportunity. There will be time to ask BIA any questions which may support your proposal. 

    Presenters: Rachael Novak, Acting BIA Tribal Climate Resilience Program CoordinatorAlyssa Samoy, BIA Natural Resources SpecialistJo Ann Metcalfe, Certified Grants Specialist - U.S Department of the Interior, Indian Affairs 
March 10, 2021
  • March 10, 2021  10:00 am - 11:30 am

    Highlighting examples of what the Tribal Resilience Program, (TRP) has funded in the past

    In this session panelists will share their projects and planning approaches for addressing climate change utilizing the Tribal Resilience Program funding opportunity.

    Speakers:
    Raymond Paddock, Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska
    Kenneth Weitzel, Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska
    Philomena Keyes, Village of Kotlik

    Moderator: 
    Malinda Chase, Alaska Tribal Resilience Liaison

    REGISTER HERE
March 17, 2021
  • March 17, 2021  2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

    Language in Climate Change Planning

    In this session panelists Nikki Cooley  and Kristin Timm will discuss terms used in climate change adaptation planning that will be helpful when preparing a TRP proposal.

    REGISTER HERE
March 18, 2021
  • March 18, 2021  2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

    Understanding the Difference Between a Vulnerability Assessment, Risk Assessment, and Desktop Report

    In the last Pre-TRP Application session, panelists will provide overviews and examples of desktop reports, vulnerability assessments, and risk assessments and discuss how these documents are used in the climate adaptation planning process. 

    REGISTER HERE
April 23, 2021